Regular or experimental flight models?

Hi. There has been much debate on whether to use the experimental flight model on X-Plane for helicopters. Some swear by it, others are a bit apprehensive. One of the gurus and creator of our beloved MD500 says it is far more realistic to fly with the experimental model on. Following his words I am doing the same. Autorotations, Vuichard’s and other maneuvers, seem spot on. Being a digital pilot, I cannot tell which is more accurate, so here is my question for the real life pilots: how do you fly on XP to get the maximum reality experience? I mostly fly the 407, seconded by the UH-1, and on third position with the 429 (the latter one, is mainly because I cannot read the gauges at 100 degrees FOV).

In theory, the experimental flight model is more realistic and there’s a lot in it that I prefer and feels a bit more organic. Like you, I’m not a real pilot so I can’t say for sure but there are some things that feel more “logic” from a physics perspective.

IGE, for example, feels more natural to me.

I’m using it for some time, on all helicopters, and I don’t feel the need to revert my choice so far.

1 Like

Very true for the ground effect. Before it seemed as the heli bounced of the ground. I too fly with the experimental mode on for all my helis. Cheers

Some helicopters do bounce a bit. Especially the AS350. They need some work for sure.

Hello,

I have an IRL helicopter pilot currently testing the JRX Gazelle for me and he has tried both normal and experimental and has reported “not a lot of difference”. Ben from Laminar has stated that the experimental option will eventually go and become the normal (or only) option. I think that once Austin is happy it will be default sometime soon. I personally do not do enough flying now to comment, but I have always had it on pretty much from the start.