Transition from fixed wing (Or how I learned not to die)

G’day everyone :slight_smile: Hope you’re all doing well, and welcome to a quick topic i thought I’d throw together with some tips and tricks I’ve learned after months of learning to fly these awesome (and somewhat terrifying) machines.

I’m no expert, not by a long stretch, but I’m starting to get the basics down solidly, and while it was fresh in my mind I thought I’d scribble these thoughts down on coming over from the “dark-side” of fixed wing aircraft, in the hopes of maybe helping some of the others out there transition a little smoother. If anyone else has any tips, advice or thoughts please jump in, but I’ll get the ball rolling with with some of the key points I have learned during my transition.

In no particular order:

1. The hover is not equal to taxiing. When I first started flying choppers, the hover seemed like a tiny portion of the flight, much like taxiing is in fixed wing, and boy howdy was I wrong. Hovering is almost like balancing a spinning plate on a stick while standing with both feet on a ball, and for all that difficulty there is a huge reward at the end.

Hovering, hover control, hover taxi, all of these skills are -really- more like super slow flight, and after spending a fair few hours just hovering around airports, setting myself simple goals such as “Fly down Alpha, Bravo, Chalie, 180 pivot at the end, side slip across runway, back up, turn and do it all in reverse” I found that my control at all phases of flight, especially take off and landings improved dramatically.

Once you understand how the hover feels, what the birds doing under you when you do x, or y, and how much control is required to stop x, or start y, the rest of the flight phases start to feel more natural and come together.