Text and gauges in vr

Hello folks,

I’m new to VR flying, but my goodness do i love it. There’s nothing like a bit of depth perception and spatial awareness to help control the beast.

I have a couple of quality questions.

I have a rift s. PC is i7 7700k, 16gb decent corsair ram and a gtx1060 6gb card. It’s slightly underpowered for taking the settings up but my bank balance is slowly but surely working on that.

My question is this: i have noticed that text, for example on the load screens is shimmery almost blurry and certainly hard to read. The menus screen in the vr hangar is mostly okay but then some text on panels and the vr map for example is really hard to read. This isn’t the case in other vr games I’ve been trying ( no mans sky, elite dangerous) Also not a problem anywhere in the oculus home. I have managed to run at pretty much max settings (full 8x AA and FXAA and those things maxed , though I’ll be honest I don’t fully know what they mean) if i play out at sea on the oil rig for example but the problem persists. I’m also using an older aircraft - i fell in love with the ec135 so I don’t know if that has an impact with the panels.

Anyone got any tips?

Thanks
Nathan

Hi Nathan. I don’t own a Rift myself but I believe you can do oversampling in the Rift software, which may help you with that. Have you tried giving it a try?

Which sim? I think you’re talking about X-Plane? I certainly have the same issue with the loading screen text there with my Rift-S. My PC is broadly similar to yours - I7 6700K, 32 GB RAM & a GTX1070Ti. I had a GTX1060 6GB previously though, and it did struggle with any oversampling.

You might benefit from the OVR plug-in to adjust the oversample inside X-Plane, but your system specs are really the bare minimum for VR so you will lose valuable framerate. You need maximum texture resolution for the gauges to look their best. I fly the X-trident Bell 412 a good bit & that really helped with reading the gauges.