Newbie needs help

I am new to gaming, new to flight sims, new to vr. I built a gaming computer and purchased the oculus rift s and installed x plane. For controls I purchased a used helicopter setup from helicopter simulator no seat.

I am struggling with how to set up xplane and my controls for the best experience? It seems like there is a lot of dead play in the cyclic where I move it around and nothing happens then all of a sudden I get to a point in motion where i get a drastic response.

I don’t know if the controller is bad or if there are some settings that will help smooth out the responsiveness?

I’m a instrument rated private pilot so I know you need to be gentle on the controls and it just seems like I’m having to move the controls way too much to get a response.

Needless to say I can’t fly the helicopter for crap right now, lol

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Hello @Boomer. Welcome to our forums.

It seems to me like you may have a faulty unit, but let’s try to debug that. I am assuming you are using Windows. Please let me know if not.

Hit the Windows key and start writting “game controllers” (without the quotes). Open the “Set up USB game controllers” app

You should see a list of your controllers. Select the one you mentioned and hit the ‘Properties’ button. See if the movement translates to the little “+” inside the square.

Even if it does, you may need to calibrate your controller. Go back and calibrate it on Windows.

You will also need to calibrate it on X-Plane.

A note: in theory, you don’t need to calibrate your controller in Windows AND X-Plane. I usually do it anyway (even if just to have everything set up for other games as well).

See if that works.

I did not realize they sold used setups. Perhaps the one you got is defective. Do they have a warranty on used equipment?

They don’t. I bought it off of eBay from someone who used it to get their license.