Seeking help on best Heli-sim for learning pilots

Hello HeliSimmer Community,
I am new to this and not really that tech savvy but seeking help/guidance.
My partner is learning to be a helicopter pilot. With COVID, there is limited time to actually being in the air, so I would like to get him a heli-pilot sim game/console that would allow him to still get a sense of being in the air when in lock-down.
Most of the research I have done focuses more on gaming.
I am looking for something that allows him to sit in a cockpit (if that is what you call it in a helicopter) and fly around, say using a joy-stick control. We live in an apartment, so getting a flight simulator control that comes with an actual seat set up is not possible.
He is a MAC desktop, though I am not sure of the age of the graphics capability.
Are there any virtual reality headsets you can buy (and accompanied software), instead of just the software being loaded onto a computer and using the computer screen? I have not looked into much on the VR front and really would not know where to start.
My budget is not big but I would love some guidance on this and thought this community could help?
Sorry if I sound like a girl (which I am) but researching this on the internet has been overwhelming and not being a tech-guru I find I am being led down some many different options.
I apologise if this is the wrong forum for requesting such information.
My fingers and toes are crossed someone may be happy to help me out?
Note: We are based in Australia.
Cheers
AJK-Kitty
: )

1 Like

Being on a Mac means you’re basically limited to only X-Plane 11. That’s not a bad thing though, since X-Plane is an excellent simulator. It has a free demo you can install to see how it performs on your system: Try It - X-Plane