Best Heli Airport?

HI, I’m just starting out in XPlane with VR and getting my new system sorted and wondering what airport you can recommend ? can be payware …
I’m in OZ but did manage to meet Sergio in the UK last year at the Flight Sim show…
Since then I have ‘invested’ in a Rift S , Puma controls and a I7 9700, RTX2070, 32Gb machine… Very Impressed.

cheers, Art

Hey Art! It’s great seeing you here.

The best heli airport… Now that’s a tough one. I guess it depends on your own taste. I am partial to remote locations so something like Propstrike’s Quatam River is something I really enjoy.

Thanks for that,
I’m also thinking of writing an account of my VR / Flight sim experience culminating in a test flight in a real Helicopter in May this year , a Birthday treat for me. It will be very interesting to see what the instructor thinks of my skill level (or lack of !)

2 Likes

Mech, I’ve been thinking of doing the same thing myself. Would be very interesting after all my virtual flying.

I second the Quatam River suggestion. Be sure to take a look at the map and go see the secondary landing fields - especially the fire tower area across the lake to the NW of the main strip.

1 Like

Where abouts in OZ are your from Art? I’m in Melbourne and know a couple of other lads down here too.

P.S. For bush flying Quatam River is amazing! I can also recommend the Faroe Islands from Maps2XPlane as one of the main transportation methods between the islands is by Heli Service.

But really it all depends on where you want to fly. If you like flying in the UK then you might like to check out The Charity Scenery Project (blends in well with OrbX TrueEarth GB South) with their helipads (full disclaimer I help them transfer their scenery to XP).

There’s also the newly released HeliAples scenery on the org, anything by Frank Dianese (all mountain scenery in the French/Italian Alps, payware). Lots of cool places to fly.